Beginning the Mandelic peel and my favourite products….

There’s a couple of our products that are firm favourites of mine. I’ve always had oily skin so the 5% Salicylic Toner is always in use throughout the month…whether I use it once a week to help oil production…or of a night as on the spot treatment. I’m also a huge fan of our Hyaluronic acid serum. My skin doesn’t really like many cream based products and so I’ve always struggled to get some moisture in without causing constant breakouts and the Hyaluronic Acid Serum is perfect for that. I find it’s really light and absorbs well and my skin literally drinks it in. Also the fact that I hit 35 this year means I’m starting to think in terms of good old wrinkle control…and the Hyaluronic is a double whammy in that respect. I’ve always also used a Micellar water to remove make-up and cleanse my skin without overloading it. I’d previously used L’Oreal’s but I’m pleased to say we will have our own Micellar water up for sale very soon…exciting!!

mandelic-acid-peel-162-p[ekm]182x288[ekm]

Due to hormonal breakouts (I’ve never had acne before…it seemed to arrive in my 30’s and I’ve been battling it ever since) I’ve been left with some pigmented scarring from those awful under the skin spots that are very red, angry and painful…and seem to last forever! Most of it is on my cheeks…not a lot, but it’s there and it can still be seen under my daily make-up…so I decided to begin a course of 10% Mandelic peels.

mandelic 1
(my skin during a breakout)

I’ve never actually done a peel myself before, I know just about everything there is to know about them, but I’ve just never had reason to. Well now I do and so I began my first treatment last Monday and I have to say I was pretty impressed. I left the peel on for the 1 minute, applied the neutralising gel and then rinsed…straight after I applied my Hyaluronic acid and I have to say my skin felt amazingly smooth. I was expecting some redness and a little stinging sensation but all I got was a mild tingle on a spot…conveniently placed on my chin *sigh*!

Through the week I’ve had a breakout, mainly around my chin area…but I knew it was due and I’m aware beginning a new skin treatment causes a breakout initially due to it clearing all those impurities out from the pores…so I’ve not quite grinned but I’m bearing it and my concealer is getting a bit of a hammering (as is Youtube…there are some amazing tutorials on there for using make-up to flawlessly cover up blemishes and acne without looking like your make-up is two inches thick!). These videos (I particularly love this Lisa Eldridge one here) have definitely been a life saver at times…especially this weekend when we had a large family meal in a restaurant for my mum’s birthday (which means lots of photographs…argghhh!!).

mandelic 2
(my skin with make-up tutorial life savers)

So this evening I’m due my second dose of the Mandelic, leaving it on for two minutes…and I have to say I’m looking forward to it. As well as my mum’s birthday meal this weekend has contained some painting and decorating and a bit of gardening (and maybe a little more chocolate and a little less sleep than is recommended) and my skin is definitely due some TLC. I’m looking forward to the soft feeling I got last weekend and the way the morning after my make-up literally glides onto my skin. It’s too early to tell with the pigmentation itself, if you’ve read one of my earlier posts you’ll know it can take a month or more for the skin cells to renew themselves, but I’m keen to share my results with you all.

Anyone else currently or recently experiencing a course of peels? How is it going for you? What has your experience been and what difference has it made to your skin?

Kelli x

Leave a comment